## 14<sup>th</sup> IUVSTA SCHOOL on

## "Nano-Optics: from Principles to Basic Research and Applications"



Ana Gomes Silva, acs@fct.unl.pt

The 14<sup>th</sup> IUVSTA School entitled "Nano-Optics, from Principles to Basic Research and Applications" will take place at International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory (INL) in Braga, Portugal, from Monday, April 11 to Friday, 15 April 2016. The school is organized by the Nanostructures Division (NSD) and supported by the Bio-Interfaces Division (BID) as well as the Surface Science Division (SSD).

The 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics for invention of efficient blue lightemitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy saving white light, and the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, for development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy, together with the celebration of the International Year of Light are an evidence of the importance of light phenomena. Nanooptics is the branch of nanoscience and nanotechnology that deals with engineering and controlling optical fields on a scale that is smaller than the wavelength of light, i.e., that operates with nano-optical fields. The purpose of the IUVSTA School is to introduce the students and established scientists to the field and provide a comprehensive overview on experiment and theory, basic physics and applications as well as on nanofabrication and characterization. The school will begin from the consideration of fundamental principles, and will reach the frontiers of research in a systematic and didactic fashion, addressing the latest developments. Expected main topics will be nano-plasmonic, metamaterials, near-field, super-resolution imaging, ultrafast nano-optics, intelligent lighting and human centric lighting, among others. The school is organized under the leadership of Ana G. Silva (Secretary of NSD) together with Christian Teichert, (Chair of NSD). Local organizers are Carlos José Macedo Tavares and Jana Nieder. Besides Lars Montelius, INL, the International Scientific Committee was recruited from several National Representatives within NSD, Sidney R. Cohen (Vice- Chair of NSD), Antonin Fejfar, Steven Schofield, Yves Huttel, Maja Buljan, Hideaki Kasai, Ryszard Czajka, Nancy A Burnham, and Katalin Balazsi. A widespread advertisement of this school is just in preparation.